The Canadian Path program is the way Scouting is done in Canada. Developed by Scouts Canada, this well-rounded program offers youth aged 5 to 26 an opportunity to experience new things, have more adventures and develop into confident and capable individuals, better prepared for success in the world.

From Beaver Scouts to Rover Scouts, youth take the lead in deciding what program areas they will pursue. Taking charge, the youth will organize ways to achieve these goals, and will collectively reflect on their experience after the goal is met. With support from adult Scouters, this “Plan-Do-Review” method is one of the many ways that the Canadian Path can help youth develop into critical thinkers, extend their personal progression, and encourage active participation in an inclusive team dynamic.

The Canadian Path brings Scouting back to its roots by using the Scout Method as its basis, which was first introduced by Lord Baden-Powell, founder of the Scout Movement.

Components of The Path

The Canadian Path is comprised of several components:

  • A non-formal approach to learning
  • The seven components of the Scout Method
  • The Four Elements: Youth-led, Plan-Do-Review, Adventure, and SPICES (the six attributes Scouting aims to foster: Social, Physical, Intellectual, Character, Emotional, and Spiritual)
  • Six balanced Program Areas: Environment & Outdoors, Leadership, Active & Healthy Living, Citizenship, Creative Expression, and Beliefs & Values
  • A personal journey of growth

The Four Elements

There are Four Elements that make up The Canadian Path:

  • Youth-led: The program is directed by its youth members-not the Scouters.
  • Plan-Do-Review: A three-step process informs all activities in the Canadian Path program.
  • Adventure: Scouts explore new things, share new idieas, learn new skills, and create new paths.
  • SPICES: Social, Physical, Intellectual, Character, Emotional, and Spiritual are the six dimensions of personal development for the Canadian Path program.

Learn More

Six Program Areas

The Canadian Path is divided into six Program Areas-categories of the different opportunities that Scouting offers.

Each Section explores all of the Program Areas through age-appropriate activities. As your Section plans its Adventures, you may discover that your plans include more than one Program Area.

Including features from ultiple Program Areas makes the Adventure more challenging and encourages development in all of the SPICES. Remember, the Canadian Path is Youth-led, so the youth will decide on Adventures for every Program Area.

Learn More

Outdoor Adventure Skills

The Outdoor Adventure Skills program is an invitation for Scouts to try something new—to be outside more, testing themselves with progressive challenges while always staying within their capabilities to stay safe. In short, it’s about having life-changing experiences.

Each Outdoor Adventure Skills pathway is divided into nine stages with a badge awarded for each stage. However, the purpose of the OAS program is not the badge. Rather, the Outdoor Adventure Skills should be seen as tools to support the Plan-Do-Review process.

Learn More


The focus of the Scouting program is on personal progression. Badges help youth recognize and celebrate their personal progression and encourage them to set new goals. Venturer Scouts have the opportunity to work towards a variety of badges, including:

  • Outdoor Adventure Skills: Outdoor Adventure Skills are learned in the completion of adventures. Nine areas of skills are part of every Scouting Section, from Beaver Scouts to Rover Scouts. Each of the nine skills is defined in nine progressive stages.
  • Queen's Venturer Award: The Queen's Venturer Scout Award is the top award of a youth's personal journey through Venturer Scouts.

Venturers may also choose to participate in the Duke of Edinburgh's Award, an award program that any youth, in or outside of scouting, between the ages 14 - 25 can join.